

Dear Kansas Lawmaker,

As the 2023 session draws to a close, we strongly urge you to reject any proposals undermining current vaccine requirements, existing vaccine exemptions, or the ability to respond quickly and effectively to future infectious disease outbreaks in our state.

The vaccine-related policies discussed throughout the 2023 legislative session[1] risk placing our state's children in child care and school settings, as well as immunocompromised adults and our seniors, at a higher risk of disease, disability, or even death. At one point, some of the proposed policies also impacted both businesses and colleges and universities.

When outbreaks of vaccine-preventable diseases happen, there is a severe economic impact on a community. Parents miss work, children miss school and child care, outbreaks overwhelm our health systems, and responses can costs millions of dollars[2].

During a 2018 and 2019 measles outbreak in Kansas, the public health response to the 72 known cases cost approximately \$2.3 million. Measles is very contagious. It can live in the air for up to two hours after an infected person leaves the area and 90% of exposed people will become infected if they are not vaccinated. Late last year, Ohio saw an outbreak of measles, where 80 of the 85 kids infected were not vaccinated. And, measles outbreaks usually see about 20% of infected children hospitalized. In this Ohio outbreak, 42% of the kids infected were hospitalized! That should alarm us all, as almost everyone in a community must be vaccinated against measles to stop an outbreak from occurring.

Furthermore, additional proposals[3] to remove local and state health officials' authority to respond to infectious disease outbreaks in evidence-based fashion must also be rejected. Many of the vaccine-preventable diseases that our state's vaccine requirements target are also highly infectious.

As a Kansas public health pioneer once said, "The health of each of us depends on the health of all of us."

Please reject any policies that would undermine current vaccine requirements, current vaccine exemptions, or the ability to respond quickly and effectively to future infectious disease outbreaks in our state.

Sincerely,

The Undersigned Organizations and Individuals

[1] SB 20; SB 314; SB 315; and the CCR for HB 2390.

[2] Pike, J., Melnick, A., Gastañaduy, P., Kay, M. Harbison, J., Leidner, A., J., Rice, S., Asato, K., Schwartz, L., and DeBolt, C. (2021). Societal Costs of a Measles Outbreak. *Pediatrics* 147(4). https://doi.org/10.1542/peds.2020-027037

[3] SB 6; Sen. Sub for HB 2390; and the CCR for HB 2390.

Kansas Organizations

Immunize Kansas Coalition

CIS Translation Services, LLC

Diversidad Latina

Flint Hills Wellness Coalition

Grant County Health Department

Johnson County Department of Health and Environment

Kansas Action for Children

Kansas Association of Local Health Departments

Kansas Chapter, American Academy of Pediatrics

Kansas Council of Health-System Pharmacy

Kansas Head Start Association

Kansas Interfaith Action

Kansas NEA

Kansas Pharmacists Association

Kansas School Nurse Organization

Lincoln County Health Department

Logan County Health Dept.

Masonic Cancer Alliance

McPherson County Health Department

Nurture KC

Pawnee County Health Department

Pottawatomie County Health Department

REACH Healthcare Foundation

The University of Kansas Cancer Center

UFCW District Union Local Two

United Methodist Health Ministry Fund

National and Other State Organizations

Health Forward Foundation

Immune Deficiency Foundation

Indiana Immunization Coalition

Meningitis B Action Project

New Mexico Immunization Coalition

SAFE Communities Coalition

The Arizona Partnership for Immunization

Tulsa Area Immunization Coalition

Vaccinate Your Family

Individuals

Dave Redmon Karin Leacox Dawn Wheeler

Danielle Gantz, BSN, RN

Ethel A. Edwards David Houchen Abby Young

Gloria Guerrero

James McGuire Cynthia Runge Rex Romeiser, MD Erin Winger, RN Mike Vanlandingham

Crystal Rommen, LCSW Janet Houchen

Karen Anderson Harvey, RN, ARNP

Anne Zajic Jenny Lillis Nina Ainslie, MD Khera Whitehead, LPN Clayton Houchen Lorna Ford

Lorna Ford
Hope Krebill
Patricia Torres
Kim Stoeber, LSCSW
Lauren Swensson
Catherine Hemberger, RN

Latherine Hemberger, RN

Sam Clevenger

Katherine Fernandez-Olson, M.A.

Cindy Olson Burgess, RN Charly Garrison, RN, BSN

Stil Guerrero

Carrie Ashbaugh, RN

Vanessa Lohf Cynthia Calzadillas Libby Schrag María C Martínez Mary Coffman Michelle Hay

Rhoda Wisman RN, BSN Kristal Walker, MA

Mary Sinclair, PhD

Jane Keating CNOR RN. Retired

Sonja Gaumer, RN Tracy Chace RN, BSN

Michelle D. Fiscus, MD FAAP Joann Wheeler BSN RN

LaSasha Rosales, RN Carrie Brzuchalski Laura Calderon

Sister Therese Bangert Krista Schneider, RN Michelle Shull, RN

Lisa Stoll

Heather Braum Yolidia Garcia, RN

Dana Reddick, RN

John Dutra Omar Soltero Shauna Rumbaugh

Carlie Houchen Sylvia Ramirez Lucy Watie Michelle Spangler, BSN, RN

Elizabeth Montoya Denise Mogg, RN Blanca lara Hali Bell, RN Kelsey Carter, RN Devin Quinn

Yadira Soltero Kristin Hammer Melinda Parks Vicki Wark, RN Paul Everett Amy Carter

Chris Steege M. J. Van Buren Veronixa Pacheco

Mary Koslap-Petraco DNP CPNP FAANP

Ashley Phillips, LSCSW, LCSW

Sara Purcell, RN, BSN

Brian Gilbert Marci Smith Mary Ann Fieming Claire Houchen Gloria Bracamonte

Jodi Dumler

Anne Ball, PharmD, BCPS

Julia Boge

Stacie Schroeder

Jeri Tegtmeier, RN, APRN

Modene Watie

George and Marcia Troutfetter

Cynthia Altamirano Karen Henning Yaniva Gill-Reyes Betty Mendoza, RN Mary Jane Pelletier William Needels Ruth Johnson Teresa Meza

Vickie Shook, BSN, RN

Devin Wilson

Kelsie Masterson, RN

Jaime Gabel

Kimberly Payton, M.Ed. Mary McDaniel-Anschutz, RN

Shalei Shea RN BSN Brenda Kolbaba Colleen Cunningham

Katie Wilson, PharmD, BCACP

Ashley Lemke, MPH Cristina Acosta Cheryl Hoberecht, RN Melissa Woeppel Jill Gerardy Spader Crista Bosley Leslie Mark

Maria Gabriela Chavez, RN Cristy Toburen, CPNP Richard Neuschafer Rory L Wheeler

Ronda Hutchinson, BSN, RN

Alice Blecha Elaine Johannes Cristian Mendoza Jon Zehnder

Jennifer McKenna, PharmD Alan and Jamie Myers

Anita Trevino Jeff Maska

Jonathan Bautista Heather Hahn, RN

Julissa Soto Kelli Bautista Sharon Fricke Jose Lara

Geovannie Gone Julie Dodson, RN Shari Coatney Gay Ramsey Judith Ancel

Amanda Applegate, PharmD

Robert Peterson Manuel Guzman

Lisa Edgerton-Johnston

Jeff Little, PharmD, MPH, FASHP

Kelsey Ryan

Susan Wood Kelly Watie

Ruby Romero, RN

Kimberly Martin RN, MSEd, BSN

Julie Johnston, BSN, RN

Elizabeth Faber Barbara Meyer Pam Shaw MD Connie Satzler Kairo Mendoza

David and Roberta Kromm

Octavia M. Pleas Aracely Lopez, RN Patrick McWhorter Jamie Anderson Sean Gatewood

Jennifer Soebbing, RN, BSN

Rita Orleans

Macy Norris, RN, BSN Jo Ann Blevins, RN Veronica Holtz

Tammie Schneider, RN Grace Mitchell, MD Crystal Back Shari Tedford Katie Russell

Marcia Burns RN, BSN Guadalupe Ruiz Edith Soltero Deborah Kitchin Maria Martinez

Ashley Beying, MSN, APRN, FNP-BC

Miguel Soltero David Embers, MD Phoebe Rinkel Jessica Garcia, CNA Ann Mattison, APRN

Sandra Jirak